Crash Of Hennington

Crash Of Hennington

Regular price
$9.00
Sale price
$9.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

A satirical novel with real emotional depth, from a debut author who willappeal to readers of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins

'I can't remember reading a novel in such a compulsive, leave-me-in-peace waysince Tales from the City. Patrick Ness weaves Armistead Maupin's mini-chapters,sharp dialogue and outrageous plot-weaving with hallucinatory, apocalypticmaterial worthy of Russell Hoban or Philip Pullman but the unpredictable resultis entirely original. More please!' Patrick Gale

With the legendary Cora Larsson finally stepping down as Mayor to make wayfor her protegee, Max Latham, the seaside city of Hennington finds itself in astate of flux. In the midst of the worst heatwave in living memory, even thecrash of rhinos that wanders the city's streets and parks is becoming restless,and has caused several rush-hour traffic jams this week. Across town, bow-leggedand malevolent Country Club owner Thomas Banyon's temperature is also rising, ashe stews over the small size of his particular universe -- and at the tightleash held on him by his powerful father Archie, scion of Banyon Enterprises andfriend to Cora Larsson. In fact, come to think of it, Thomas just might be theperfect candidate to run for Mayor against Cora's golden boy, Max... Told withgreat style, wit and feeling, The Crash of Hennington is amagnificent satirical novel with real emotional depth. Reminiscent of the workof Peter Carey and Tom Robbins, it combines a refreshing, unshowy intelligencewith a wonderfully rich cast of characters, in a setting that is both surreallydifferent and undeniably familiar. Welcome to Hennington.